## SCHOOL BOARD MINUTES

September 5, 2023

Pledge	President Dr. Harker led the Pledge to the Flag.		
Call to Order	President Dr. Harker called the meeting of the Flat Rock-Hawcreek Board of School Trustees to order at 7:00 p.m. All Board members were present except Pat Walters. Superintendent Shawn Price was also present.		
	Also attending the meeting was JB Royer and Missy Dempsey.		
Minutes Approved	Chad Miller moved and Matt Bruner seconded a motion to approve Board minutes of August 15, 2023. Motion passed: 4-0		
Public Comment			
Approval of Payroll and Vendor Claims	Missy Dempsey submitted vendor claims 599-692 and payroll claims of August 18 and September 1, 2023 for Board approval.		
	Brian Rose moved and Matt Br presented. Motion passed: 4-0	uner seconded the motio	n to approve the claims as
Personnel	Superintendent Shawn Price recommended the following volunteers for the 2023-2024 school year:		
	Tyler Hostetler Carrie Carman Jessica Hartwell Michael Reavis Lisa Lienhoop Kristal Baker Toria Fife Mariah Lonaker Ashley Littiken Andrew Paetzel Kylie Pitman Jordan Pagragan Maria Dold Bret Mize Japheth Phelps Elicia Everroad Cody Hege Abigail Hartwell Amy Paszek Paul Reyes	Denise Scoggan Lisa Webster Miguel Beal Anna Reavis Emily Phelps Haley Wilder Marcus Coffey Autumn Coffey Leslie Valencia Alexis Steinkoenig Amanda Campbell Philip Satterfield Diane Croddy Anthony Crowder Misty Whitaker Tayler Gobel Rikki Hege Chad Martin Whitney Martin Wendy Reyes	Douglas Scoggan Anthony Jones Ambria Beal Christopher Taulman Madysan Brooks Nathaniel Sallee Angela Stacy Nicholas Sessions Bradley Williams Heather England Kristina Niccum Kasia Satterfield Christiana Davis Deborah Smith Ashley Mack Stephanie Long Jenny Lonaker Loren Brooks Sarah Brooks Katherine Frazier

Samantha Pittman	Travis Pittman	Amy Rutan
Chandra Williams	Michael Laswell	Lynsey Bottoms
Eric Wiseman	Leanna Wiseman	Ashley McClure
Matthew McClure	Kelly Heindel	William Heindel
Jackson Shipley	Deanna Hendrix	Heather Smith
Kelley Gonsior	Jonathan Boriss	Brooke Fear
Allison Burgdorf	Nicole Hamilton	Emily Dill
Kristina Newton	Patrick Coyle	Derrick Russell
Blaine Wagner	Velva Love	Courtney Haley
Shawn Haley	Sheila Downey	Eric Tunny
Alexis Baker	Michelle Gernentz	Holly Reel
Aleah Smith	Alicia Lucas	Caitlin Willin
Jackie Johnson	Megan Ayers	Bryce Mize
Linda Graham	Jesse Holley	Shakara Corya
Trina Newton	Kayal Heslop	April McCreery
Kristina Niccum	Tasha Wainscott	Cory Diedrich
Eric Paetzel	Bridget Diedrich	Heather Bahr
Tony McClain	Leroy Leonard II	Suzzanne McClain

Chad Miller moved and Matt Bruner seconded the motion to approve the volunteers as presented. Motion passed: 4-0

Athletic Director Tyler Phillips recommended the following coaching positions at Hauser for the 2023-2024 season:

Andy Dempsey – 7<sup>th</sup> Boys Basketball Jason Pence – 8<sup>th</sup> Boys Basketball Derek Baker – 7<sup>th</sup> Girls Basketball

Brian Rose moved and Matt Bruner seconded the motion to approve the coaches as presented. Motion passed: 4-0

Principal Jessica Poe asked for approval to hire Brandy Walters as the Spell Bowl Coach at Hope Elementary for the 2023-2024 school year.

Chad Miller moved and Matt Bruner seconded the motion to approve Brandy Walters as the Spell Bowl Coach at Hope Elementary. Motion passed: 4-0

Principal Kris Fortune recommended Jase Rigney for the Instructional Assistant position at Hauser.

Chad Miller moved and Brian Rose seconded the motion to approve Jase Rigney for the Instructional Assistant position at Hauser. Motion passed: 4-0 Principal Jessica Poe recommended Kristi Rice as the Co-Math Chair at Hope Elementary.

Brian Rose moved and Matt Bruner seconded the motion to approve Kristi Rice as the Co-Math Chair at Hope Elementary. Motion passed: 4-0

Hope Elementary Instructional Assistant Sandy Artis submitted her letter of resignation effective August 14, 2023.

Chad Miller moved and Matt Bruner seconded the motion to approve Sandy Artis' resignation as presented. Motion passed: 4-0

Principal Kris Fortune recommended the following individuals for ECA positions at Hauser for the 2023-2024 school year:

Junior Class Sponsor – Kristy Madden & Alison Wold (split) National Honor Society – Michael Klinger & Madison Owens (split) Play Director – Ellie Trotter S.A.D.D. – Ellie Trotter

Brian Rose moved and Chad Miller seconded the motion to approve the individuals as presented. Motion passed: 4-0

Hauser Teacher Michael Klinger submitted his letter of resignation as the School Musical sponsor.

Chad Miller moved and Brian Rose seconded the motion to accept Michael Klinger's resignation as the School Musical sponsor. Motion passed: 4-0

Facilities Director JB Royer recommended moving Aiden Cheshire from part-time to full-time custodian.

Chad Miller moved and Matt Bruner seconded the motion to approve moving Aiden Cheshire from part-time to full-time custodian. Motion passed: 4-0

Superintendents Mrs. Dempsey reviewed the Fund Report for the Education, Operations and Debt fund. Report

Principal Kris Fortune asked for approval for the slate of fundraisers at Hauser as presented.

Chad Miller moved and Matt Bruner seconded the motion to approve the fundraisers as presented. Motion passed: 4-0

Other Business	Superintendent Shawn Price recommended the following changes to the school board meeting dates:		
	October 17 – Cancel		
	October 23 (Monday) – Have meeting		
	November 7 – Cancel		
	November 14 – Have meeting		
	November 21 – Cancel		
	Chad Miller moved and Brian Rose seconded the motion to approve the school board meeting date changes. Motion passed: 4-0		
	Brian Rose asked about possible savings when locking in rates for gas and diesel fuel.		
	Superintendent Shawn Price informed the school board that quotes were being obtained for repairs to Hope Summer Playground and that these repairs would be paid from the bond.		
Adjournment	At 7:18 p.m., Brian Rose moved and Matt Bruner seconded a motion to adjourn. Motion passed 4-0.		

SIGNED:

Dr. John D. Harker, President

Chad Miller, Vice-President

Matt Bruner, Secretary

Brian Rose, Member

Patrick Walters, Member

EQUAL EMPLOYMENT OPPORTUNITY

It is the policy of Flat Rock-Hawcreek School Corporation to recruit, select, train, promote, retain and discipline employees without regard to race, sex, religious beliefs, national origin, national ancestry, political affiliation, age or disability.